vsco_092714

This is the time of year to go to a pumpkin patch. Wear sweaters. Drink hot chocolate. That’s what we were supposed to do today. I was with my friend Lucy. She was wearing her lace up boots with long socks and her red-orange beanie that I bought for her last Christmas.

There is something about an Autumn day that really gets to me. The breeze, the way the sun shines just enough to keep it from feeling like Winter.

Lucy was smiling and running from pumpkin to pumpkin. She was really excited for Halloween and we were going to pick the perfect pumpkin to carve into a Jack-o-Lantern. I figured we could get a few, just in case we messed up one. I had never really carved a pumpkin before, so I knew mine would be bad. Lucy said we would make roasted pumpkin seeds from the guts. What she meant was, she would be making me roasted pumpkin seeds while I watched her.

The pumpkins at this farm were really spaced apart. I breathed in the smell of leaves and grass. The animals on the farm were in a gated area, a cow and a few sheep. There were people petting them and little kids laughing.

Lucy had found one she liked when her phone started ringing. She picked it up with a smile, so I figured it was her boyfriend. When her smile faded, I knew it was her boyfriend.

I picked up the pumpkin she had decided on and went to buy it as the tears started rolling down her face.

In the car she was still on the phone, pleading with him not to leave. This was the third time.

 

Autumn.

 

She hung up the phone.

 

Fall.

 

“Nick,” She said through tears, “I’m sorry.”

I told her it was okay, and that we were going to carve our pumpkin and she was going to make me pumpkin seeds and we would wear our sweaters and drink hot chocolate and….

“No.” She said, “Can you take me home?”

 

It was a nice day- the sun was shining, the breeze was nice- just enough to not feel like winter yet.

-Jess Gatsby

Inktober # 13

Image Credit

